the joy of flight seen for the first time from the view of a baby bird

It was scary
When I first looked down
I stepped back, I was scared,
Behind her claws I hid
But, she pushed me with her beak
I looked back one last time
Her nod gave me some self belief
So I took the leap, the leap of faith,
Falling freely; no strings attached,
I almost believed this was the end
But, somehow, I tried
I tried to flap my wings,
The way mother had taught me to,
But it was a little different than in the nest, it felt as if I have suddenly stopped,
paused in mid-air, floating,
It felt surreal, I couldn’t believe what I was missing
I needed to assure myself, so I closed my wings,
And I began to fall, but it didn’t scare me,
Not this time, I just opened my wings,
Opened them and that was it,
My first flight, so hard to believe,
Are birds allowed to have goosebumps?
Because I felt as if every pore of my skin
Wanted to detach each feather it had held
I got lost into this experience, I felt alive,
Outside that little nest, in the skies I had finally arrived…

-_- ok that’s it. I tried.

One thought on “the joy of flight seen for the first time from the view of a baby bird

Spill Your Thoughts

