Comparisons

Why should I compare myself with you
when your words have different meanings
when your heart beats at different beat
How long have I lived in your shadow?
thriving to shine like you, high, up and above,
while completely ignoring my flickering light,
flickering because of my lack of care and validation,
Why should I be depressed seeing your success
when our ladders to climb above are different
when our destinations and the roads we took are different
How long have I taken to realize this?
 

Spill Your Thoughts

