January 28 : Small Child

January 28 :  Ode to a playground A place from your past or childhood, one that you’re fond of, is destroyed. Write it a memorial.

When I used to feel scared
I used to run towards her
hugging her very tight,
sharing with her my fears,
she used to carress my hairs,
and used to tell me “everything is okay”
lifting me up in her arms
singing me sweet lullabies
about heroes and angels,
making me feel so comfortable.

Now she has grown old
and so have I stretched in size
for her I maybe still the same little child,
I, for a few moments, forget about my age,
I hug her like I used to when I was a child,
but more gently for I am afraid
her weak bones won’t able to bear the strain,
for her I maybe still the same little child,
I, for a few moments, forget about my age,

but, then I realize,
she cannot carry me in her arms anymore,
but, then I realize,
for her love I have grown far too old,
but, then I realize,
the truth of the time and sadness of my life
I wish I could shrink in size,
so I could fit in her arms,
I wish I could go back in time
and listen to her beautiful voice
I wish I never grew up
for no matter how much I care for her
I would never be able to pay back
all that love she gave to me
when I was a small child,
afraid of the world.

Spill Your Thoughts

